2015 Charlotte / Mecklenburg Election Results

2015 Charlotte / Mecklenburg Election Results

2015 Election Results for Charlotte / Mecklenburg Results

Democrat Jennifer Roberts will be the next Charlotte mayor after Republican Edwin Peacock conceded the race late Tuesday night.

“I want to take a minute to say a special thanks to you,” Roberts told a crowd of supporters in a restaurant in the Elizabeth neighborhood. “No one does anything alone. (It’s a) team effort. Tonight’s win is a win for Charlotte.”

Roberts made history, beating Republican Edwin Peacock to become the first Democratic woman elected mayor of Charlotte and the first person to lead both city and county governments.

Other notable race results

Several key positions were up for grabs on the Charlotte-Mecklenburg School Board and City Council.

For the Charlotte City Council At-Large seats, the top four vote getters were selected: Julie Eiselt, Vi Lyles, Claire Fallon and James Mitchell

For Charlotte City Council District Two, incumbent Democrat Al Austin beat out Republican challenger Justin Dunn.

For Charlotte City Council District Three, Democrat Lawana Mayfield maintained her seat. She beat challenger Eric Netter.

For Charlotte City Council District Four, incumbent Democrat Greg Phipps beat his challenger Republican Michael O’Hara.

For Charlotte City Council District Seven, incumbent Republican Ed Driggs retained his seat on council. He beat out challenger Democrat Chris Turner.

The top three vote getters filled the at-large seats for the Charlotte-Mecklenburg School Board.

Incumbents Erika Ellis Stewart, Elyse Dashew and Mary McCray held on to their seats.

Please Like CH’s New Facebook Page! New Giveaways Coming Soon!

Follow CH on Twitter!


Your Comments

Rate this event by clicking a star below